30 days of biking #22 – Hairwin

Not exactly vitamin D weather yesterday, but I was out of raw sauerkraut (my tummy’s best friend along with fizzy water), and a trip to the better Food Company in St Werburgh meant some practice with those devilish downhill hairpins. Nailed both of them, even the one on my “bad” side with panniers full of shopping 🙂 Priming myself by mentally repeating “I can do it”, bringing up images of all the people I see do this apparently effortlessly and, at the time of turning, listing the essential steps (easy gears, slow, wide, look, pedal) may have helped.

April is fulfilling its objectives as cycling + grit month by changing my thinking from avoiding things I find difficult to seeing them as opportunities to progress and feel good about it. Even running has got easier, which at week 8 of the Couch to 5k plan I thought would never happen. This is good.

Leave a Reply

